Quick Recipes and Easy

Master Of Disguise – How Gluten Hides Where You Least Expect It

Here’s a list of 14 places you might not expect to find gluten:

Sausages contain breadcrumbs (the bread is one of the ways in which the texture of the sausage is obtained, without including an unacceptably high proportion of stout), except the most high class variety of butcher’s sausage, and even in this case it’s quite likely.

Burgers, grillsteaks and similar products generally also include bread or other wheat products in the mixture.

Crab sticks and prawnies seem to be made entirely of fish, but if you check the mark and you will find wheat flour or modified starch listed in the ingredients.

Some drinks contain gluten as a thickener, to provide ‘body’.

Wheat flour may be a hidden ingredient in ice cream, ketchup, mayonnaise and instant coffee.

You often find gluten in low stout versions of products, to make them seem less watery (for example, yoghurt, soft cheese or mayonnaise).

Pre-packed grated cheese is coated in flour or modified starch to stop it from sticking together in the packet – this includes the cheese sold with jacket potatoes in takeaways, unless they grate their own (but most don’t).

Obviously, anything coated in batter or breadcrumbs contains gluten in the coating. This makes nearly every fish product out of bounds for the gluten intolerant, as the ones that aren’t coated are usually packaged in a sauce thickened with flour.

Monosodium glutamate, known to Chinese cooks as ‘taste powder’ or ‘ve-tsin’ is manufactured with gluten. This ingredient is very frequently included in factory-prepared goods, but may not be listed on the mark – or merely described as a ‘flavor enhancer’.

Soy sauce is nearly always made by fermenting soy beans and wheat together, so contains gluten.

Although wheat germ does not itself contain gluten, because of the process of separation employed in manufacture, it is likely that a small amount of gluten will be present in wheat germ sold in the stores.

Malt and malt extract are derived from wheat, and can be a hidden source of gluten. This is sometimes listed as maltase or malto-dextrin.

Any alcoholic drink made from grain – beer or whisky, for example, contains gluten.

Even medicines may contain gluten, used as a thickener or a binder.

Take my fun quiz glutenfreedietbook.com/factsheet Are you Gluten Intolerant? to see if gluten is affecting your life.

For more information about gluten and its effects on health – and some tasty gluten free recipes, visit glutenfreedietbook.com Gluten Factsheet and Recipes



About the Author

has written 10297 stories on this site.

Write a Comment

Gravatars are small images that can show your personality. You can get your gravatar for free today!

Copyright © 2017 Quick Recipes and Easy, Gourmet Food Recipes, Gourmet Food Blog. All rights reserved. Crawler and visitors tracking tool for webmaster-SEO script - Outil de suivi des visiteurs et des robots pour webmaster Google bot last visit powered by PrMania.Net
Powered by WordPress.org, Custom Theme and Free web submit and Health Clubs Fitness
Doctor consultation canada pharmacy %{^& buy viagra professional contact us or toll free.